Back to Catalogue

Kurt Masur and the Gewandhausorchester celebrate Germany's "Peaceful Revolution"

Renaud Capuçon violin | Thomanerchor Leipzig | Georg-Christoph Biller
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Kurt Masur

On 9 October in 1989, 70,000 people staged a peaceful demonstration calling for more freedom and democracy in the GDR. Thanks to the claim “Peaceful Revolution”, initiated by Kurt Masur as one of six prominent citizens of Leipzig, everything proceeded peacefully. That evening, the Gewandhausorchester played under his baton Brahms’ Second Symphony at the St Nicolas Church. The following regular "Monday Demonstrations", which came to be described as the “Peaceful Revolution”, became a major milestone on the way to open the Berlin Wall one month later on November the 9th in 1989 and paved the foundations for the reunification of the two German states. Exactly 20 years later, the Gewandhausorchester and Kurt Masur commemorate the beginning of the German reunification by presenting the same symphony at the same location.


Ludwig van Beethoven: “Egmont” overture, Op. 84; Violin Romances No. 1 in G Major, Op. 40; No. 2 in F Major, Op. 50; Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: “Denn er hat seinen Engeln befohlen über dir” for eight-part choir; Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73; Johann Sebastian Bach: “Fürchte dich nicht”, BWV 228; Motet for two four-part choirs


Prog. No.
Music genre
Choral Music / Vocal
86 mins
Michael Beyer
EuroArts Music International in co-production with MDR/ARTE
Production year