Back to Catalogue

Czech Philharmonic: Jakub Hrusa conducts Scriabin and Suk — with Daniil Trifonov

Daniil Trifonov piano
Czech Philharmonic
Jakub Hruša

The concert prepared by Jakub Hruša and the world-famous pianist Daniil Trifonov starts with Scriabin’s brilliant Piano Concerto. For the second half of the concert they perform Josef Suk’s iconic Asrael Symphony. 
“In the case of the Piano Concerto in F sharp minor, I am above all looking forward to musical collaboration with the pianist Daniil Trifonov. There are soloists who cannot be categorised with others or be typecast in any way. They are fascinating for their absolute uniqueness. To mention another one from the past—Sviatoslav Richter was such an artist, at least for me. Today I am similarly carried away by Daniil Trifonov. In the context of my life as a musician, one might say that Suk’s Asrael is one of my ‘cult’ compositions. Since my youth, when I was still at secondary school in my native city Brno, I have been captivated by its power and beauty, and that captivation is no less strong today—quite the contrary, it grows constantly stronger. It is perhaps above all through this work that my admiration for Suk is deepening”, says Jakub Hruša.


Alexander Scriabin: Piano Concerto in F sharp minor, Op. 20; Josef Suk: Asrael – a funeral symphony for large orchestra in C minor, Op. 27; Johann Sebastian Bach: Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147


Prog. No.
Music genre
Orchestral Music
110 mins
Michael Beyer
Czech Philharmonic
Production year