Back to Catalogue

Classic Archive: Celebrating Strauss

Rita Streich soprano | Janine Reiss piano | Elisabeth Schwarzkopf soprano | Gerald Moore piano | Hertha Töpper mezzo-soprano | Irmgard Seefried soprano
Orchestre National de l’ORTF, Philharmonia Orchestra
Berislav Klobucar, Charles Mackerras, Piero Bellugi

The collection “Classic Archive” presents great performances by legendary artists, remastered using the latest digital technology and enhanced with commentary for today’s audiences. These jewels of music broadcasting have been salvaged from various archives and been made accessible for home viewing audiences - appealing and enjoyable performances, that offer a unique glimpse into our classical music heritage. This Classic Archive episode brings into focus the greatest performers of Richard Strauss compositions – now available in HD. Recordings from 1961, 1965, 1967, 1970


Schlechtes Wetter, Op.69 No.5; Morgen, Op.27/4; Mein Vater hat gesagt, Op.36/3; Ruhe, meine Seelse, Op.27/1; Meinem Kinde, Op. 37/3; Muttertändelei, Op.43/2; Zueignung, Op.10/1; Waldseligkeit, Op.49/1; Rosenkavalier (“Kann mich auch an ein Mädel erinnern“); Morgen! Op. 27 No.4; Wiegenlied, Op. 41 No.1; Traum durch die Dämmerung, Op. 29 No.1; Zueignung, Op. 10 No.1; Ständchen, Op. 17 No.2


Prog. No.
Music genre
Classic Archive
63 mins
Philippe Truffault, Pierre-Martin Juban, Jean-Paul Roux, Patricia Foy
Idéale Audience
Production year